An Update on Life: 3 Years

I have been wanting to write about my work life for some time now, but haven’t taken the time to sit down and narrate what’s been going on, on a daily basis.

Since late September of last year, I have been working as a Medical Clerk at the small but fast paced Rural Health Clinic in Bishop. Our medical offices are in conjunction with the hospital, and we see just about everyone in this small town, plus many people from outside areas like Big Pine, Independence, Crowley Lake. Some come from as far as Dyer or Tonopah in Nevada, or from Death Valley to the south of us. Most days, we are very busy, which I relish. I find my job to be very easy and fun, with only a few things leaving me bothered.

I had a rough start working here. There was a temporary office manager in charge who was a very harsh micromanager. It was hard for me to understand the standoffish air of the office, and I thought maybe me being the new girl was the reason no one wanted to talk to me. Come to find out, it was that office manager that scared everyone from not talking or socializing in the office. Once she had transferred departments at the beginning of the year, the entire mood of our office changed. I became privy to the information I had missed before coming to work here. That manager did a lot of damage to people in the office, and everyone was scared to act like humans.

The people who work in the office with me now are wonderful, I am so grateful I have had the opportunity to work alongside them. Latoi was the first person to take me under her wing and become my friend. She has a wonderfully sweet personality, having worked in nursing most of her life. But at the same time, she has a fantastic fire inside of her and I love it when that side of her comes out.

Soon after I began opening up to Latoi, the whole office seemed to really enjoy my presence. Another girl who was hired around the same time as me, named Alex, has quickly become one of my close friends. Lexey, Alyssa, Rose and Talia too. They are a great group of women with varying personalities but all incredibly kind and funny. Suzi, Mindy, Dominic, Paige, Ashlynn and Angela are all awesome people as well. Jasmine, Tiffany, Emily, Cheryle and Yvette are some of the amazing Medical Assistants I get to work with and have become friends with.
Dr. Boo and his wife Heleen are fantastic people who are huge supporters of the rescue, as well as Paul and Connie, both of whom who work here as well. Casey, my direct office manager, has been phenomenal in helping the rescue in any way possible. Everyone in the front office is so kind and supportive in my endeavors. Every time I accomplish something, they cheer me on. Every time I am working on a project, they are curious and make an effort to participate in my adventures. It truly makes me feel special and valued.
I have to mention Dr. Gasior and Dr. Zuger, plus Nancy Fong and Rita Klabacha too. They are terrific provider’s here at the clinic and I am grateful I get to know them as well I do. They are fun and intelligent people.

Since being here, I’ve been able to start a little front office recycling program where everyone donates their cans and bottles to the rescue as a way of fundraising. Many people have come out to the property to visit with the dogs, and many more have shown interest to do the same in the future. It’s a really amazing feeling to have such great support.

Yesterday was our first Rural Health Clinic (RHC) front office party at the beach at June Lake. For almost 3 months we’ve had this on our schedule. Just about everyone in the office are really great friends, but because of our work schedules, we can never really get together. This was our opportunity to do so. It was also a day where we all got to see and hang out with Nurse Tamara, who just recently retired. She was such a kind and wonderful person to all of us in the front office, we miss her dearly now. She is also a HUGE supporter of the rescue, and I am so grateful for her being so kind to us.

Dad and I brought the kayaks and arrived at the beach in the early morning hours. One by one, everyone arrived and the day warmed up. Lexey and Alyssa had an adventure on the kayak, tipping over after getting caught in some strong waves on the lake. Lexey’s little boy, Kyson, was on the boat too but only took a quick dip before Dominic came on the other kayak and swooped him up. A wonderful swimmer stopped her laps in the lake and helped Lexey and Alyssa flip the kayak back over and got them back in, where they paddled back to shore.

Everyone brought their little kids, and we had a quick barbecue of burgers while soaking up the sun and playing in the water. Most of us ended up getting sunburned, but it was well worth it. It was an incredibly fun day for everyone, getting together and enjoying ourselves outside of work. Already, we’re trying to think of our next gathering.

****

One of the hardest things about this day is that my anniversary of moving falls on my best friend’s birthday. I always wish I could be with her on this day, celebrating her existence as we always have. It’s a bittersweet feeling.

But since moving out here, so much has changed:
Many friends I thought I would always have, I no longer speak to and no longer want to.
The rescue is a legitimate organization and it gets better and brighter everyday.
Learning how to get through each season, especially winter, has been difficult but I’m making progress each season.
Living in a very rural setting and adapting to the necessities of being out of town has also been difficult, but we make great strides regularly.
I’ve been able to find better things to spend my time on than I did before. I no longer smoke like a chimney, I read like a librarian instead.

I am grateful I am here. It has been incredibly hard to get used to. It’s been difficult to figure out the best ways to do things, to be more self sufficient and self reliable. Sometimes it really feels like everything is going wrong and we’ll never crawl out from the darkness. I can’t say it’s been easy in any way.

But I’ve never wanted to share the hardest parts. The thought of writing about my darker days doesn’t make me think doing so would make me feel better. I just had to keep going until the days got brighter, because I knew they would. With perseverance, I knew we would make it to the point we are at now. And there’s only better things ahead.

Here’s to another 3 years of making this work.

FB_IMG_1562014722836June 30th, 2016 at Avila Beach. My going away party.

FB_IMG_1562014667660June 30th, 2019 at June Lake Beach. RHC Front Office party.

Published by Silverkins

Dog rescuing Deadhead with big Dreams

Leave a comment